Rise and Shine

Ruud Breuls-Simon Rigter Quintet.
Musicians: Ruud Breuls: trumpet, fluegelhorn
Simon Rigter: tenor saxophone
Karel Boehlee: piano
Jos Machtel: double bass
Marcel Serierse: drums
Recorded: 2-3 January 2019 at the Wedgeview Studio, The Netherlands
Recording engineers: Udo Pannekeet, Marcel Serierse
Label: Challenge Records, CR73480
All songs by members of the of the quintet, except Let’s cool one: Thelonious Monk


‘Rise and Shine’: a convincing and strong record. The interplay between the melody section and the rhythm section is of the highest level. A great band with a distinctive sound. Excellent solos on all tracks by all players, each of them in full control of their instruments.

Omslag Mewe 300


Musicians Anna Lundqvist Quintet: Anna Lundqvist, vocals; Björn Almgren, soprano and tenor saxophone; Fabian Kallerdahl, grand piano and keyboards; Mattias Grönroos, double bass and electric bass; Jon-Erik Björänge, drums and percussion
Guest musicians: Krister Jonsson, guitar; Stina Larsdotter, cello; Tobias Hedlund, vibraphone
Recorded: Spinroad Studios, Lindome, Sweden; 2017 01 06-08, by Pedro Ferreira
Label: Prophone Records
Titels: Listen; Alone; Inspired; My Joy; The Ravens; Behind it all; Insomnia; Everything is everything; MEWE; Without and within; Beautiful friend, the end
Composers: all songs and arrangements written by Anna Lundqvist except Alone and The Ravens, arranged by Martin Olson (co-producer)


ALQ is the Anna Lundqvist Quintet, consisting of voice, saxophone and rhythm section. On MEWE the band is occasionally expanded with guitar, cello and vibraphone.

CD cover Emiliano Sampio

Meretrio & Mega Mereneu Project

Players: Meretrio and Mega Merenau Big Band, 2 CD's recorded in Graz, Austria, February 2018, SWR113/19


Emiliano Sampaio: guitar, trombone, loop machine; Gustavo Boni: electric bass, acoustic bass; Louis André: drums, percussion.

The Wedding; Helsinki; Red Eyes; Answer; Open Cold; Birds; Interpretation; O Golpe; The Reverb.

Emiliano Sampaio, born in Brazil in 1984, studied guitar intensively. Almost too much in his own saying. He needed a break and picked up the trombone because of the low prize of the instrument. Nowadays he plays both the guitar and the trombone; a pretty rare combination. Plus, he likes to work with loop stations and writes compositions for his trio and for large ensembles. He is based in Graz, Austria.



Players: Ricardo Pinheiro, PT, guitar; Massimo Cavalli, IT, double bass; Eric Ineke, NL, drums;
Recorded: 2017 November 25, Lisbon, Portugal
Label/record company: Daybreak DBCHR75337 www.challengerecords.com

Liner notes: Victor L. Schermer www.allaboutjazz.com

Tittles: Blues Just Because; Cinema Paradiso; If I should lose you; Along came Betty; You’ve changed; Conception; Retrato em Branco e Preto; When you wish upon a star;